[ Lone Star Con Home ]
[ Domino Logo ]
Previous Story
Next Story
LoneStarCon2 · The 55th World Science Fiction Convention · Saturday, August 30, 1997

Chesley Awards

Issue Four

Parties -- Saturday

Restaurant Reviews

Friday's Parties Reviewed

Chesley Awards

Short Story Contest Winner

Program Changes & Announcements


The categories and winners of The Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists 12th Annual Chesley Awards (for individual works and achievements in January 1 through December 31, 1996) are:

Best Art Director: Jamie Warren Youll for Bantam Spectra Books

Best Three-Dimensional Art: Clayburn Moore and Frank Frazetta for "Princess" (bronze)

Best Monochrome Work, Unpublished: Davette Shands for "Waiting for Antony"

Best Color Work, Unpublished: Rob Alexander for "Sinja's World"

Best Interior Illustration: Todd Lockwood for "Death Loves Me "by Tanith Lee (Realms of Fantasy, August 1996, pages 40-41)

Best Cover Illustration, Magazine: Bob Eggleton for The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, May 1996

Best Cover Illustration, Hardback Book: Michael Whelan for The Golden Key (by Melanie Rawn, Jennifer Roberson and Kate Elliot, DAW Books)

Best Cover Illustration, Paperback Book: Donato Giancola for Eggheads (by Emily Davenport, Roc Books)

Award for Contribution to ASFA: Don Maitz for "Art Director Interviews," published in the ASFA Quarterly, Volume 14, No. 2/3

Award for Artistic Achievement: Don Maitz

The Chesley, named for the great astronomical artist, Chesley Bonestell, was started by ASFA in 1985 as a means for the SF and Fantasy art community to recognize individual works and achievements during a given year. The Awards Ceremony was held Friday night.

Previous Story Next Story