LoneStarCon 2, the 1997 Worldcon

LoneStarCon 2, the 1997 Worldcon: Internet Information Center [email to LoneStarCon 2, the 1997 Worldcon]
[Hugo and John W. Campbell Awards Information]
[AwardWeb  SF Awards & More!]
[Yahoo! Genre Fiction Awards Category]
The Second Occasional LoneStarCon Science Fiction Convention and Chili Cook-off, Variously known as the 55th World Science Fiction Convention and LoneStarCon 2, the 1997 Worldcon, To be held from August 28th through September 1st, in the year 1997, in San Antonio, Texas.

1997 Hugo Nominees

LoneStarCon2, the 1997 World Science Fiction Convention, announces the 1997 Hugo nominees for outstanding achievement in the science fiction field. The Hugos are nominated by members of the current World Science Fiction Convention. LoneStarCon2 received a total of 429 valid ballots (ballots cast for each category are noted).
Links to information about the nominees is indicated by a [www]symbol; more links to sample texts and web sites will be available soon.
Upon request, webspace will be provided by LoneStarCon 2 as a courtesy to Hugo and John W. Campbell Award nominees who would not otherwise have an online venue for the display of their award nominated work. For more information, contact alamowebmaster@alamo-sf.org.

1997 Hugo Nominations (429 ballots)

Best Novel (356 ballots)

  • Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson (HarperCollins Voyager; Bantam Spectra)[www]
  • Holy Fire by Bruce Sterling (Orion; Bantam Spectra)[www]
  • Memory by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)[www]
  • Remnant Population by Elizabeth Moon (Baen)[www]
  • Starplex by Robert J. Sawyer (Ace; Analog 7-10/96)[www]

Best Novella (209 ballots)

  • "Abandon in Place" by Jerry Oltion (F&SF 12/96)[www]
  • "Blood of The Dragon" by George R. R. Martin (Asimov's 7/96)
  • "The Cost to Be Wise" by Maureen F. McHugh (Starlight 1)[www]
  • "Gas Fish" by Mary Rosenblum (Asimov's 2/96)
  • "Immersion" by Gregory Benford (SF Age 3/96)
  • "Time Travelers Never Die" by Jack McDevitt (Asimov's 5/96)

There are six nominees due to a tie vote.

Best Novelette (221 ballots)

  • "Age of Aquarius" by William Barton (Asimov's 5/96)
  • "Beauty and the Opéra or the Phantom Beast" by Suzy McKee Charnas (Asimov's 3/96)
  • "Bicycle Repairman" by Bruce Sterling (Intersections; Asimov's 10/96)[www]
  • "The Land of Nod" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's 6/96)
  • "Mountain Ways" by Ursula K. Le Guin (Asimov's 8/96)

Best Short Story (254 ballots)

  • "The Dead" by Michael Swanwick (Starlight 1)[www]
  • "Decency" by Robert Reed (Asimov's 6/96)
  • "Gone" by John Crowley (F&SF 9/96)
  • "The Soul Selects Her Own Society . . ." by Connie Willis (Asimov's 4/96; War of the Worlds: Global Dispatches)
  • "Un-Birthday Boy" by James White (Analog 2/96)

Best Non-Fiction Book (163 ballots)

  • The Faces of Fantasy by Patti Perret (Tor)
  • Look at the Evidence by John Clute (Serconia Press)
  • The Silence of the Langford by Dave Langford (NESFA Press)
  • Time & Chance by L. Sprague de Camp (Grant)
  • The Tough Guide to Fantasyland by Diana Wynne Jones (Gollancz/Vista)

Best Dramatic Presentation (283 ballots)

  • Independence Day (Centropolis Film Productions/20th Century Fox Film) Directed by Roland Emmerich, Written by Dean Devlin and Roland Emmerich, Produced by Dean Devlin[www]
  • Mars Attacks! (Warner Bros.) Directed by Tim Burton, Written by Jonathan Gems, Produced by Tim Burton and Larry Franco[www]
  • Babylon 5 "Severed Dreams" (Warner Bros.) Directed by David J. Eagle, Written by J. Michael Straczynski, Produced by John Copeland[www]
  • Star Trek: First Contact (Paramount Pictures) Directed by Jonathan Frakes, Story by Ronald D. Moore, Brannon Braga & Rick Berman, Screenplay by Ronald D. Moore & Brannon Braga, Produced by Rick Berman[www]
  • Star Trek: Deep Space Nine "Trials and Tribble-ations" (Paramount Pictures) Directed by Jonathan West, Written by Ronald D. Moore & Rene Echevarria, Story by Ira Steven Behr & Hans Beimler & Robert Hewitt Wolfe, Executive Producers Ira Steven Behr & Rick Berman[www]

Babylon 5 "War without End" and "Z'Ha'Dum" were nominated but J. Michael Straczynski declined.

Best Editor (248 ballots)

  • Gardner Dozois (Asimov's)
  • Scott Edelman (SF Age)[www]
  • Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Tor)[www]
  • Kristine Kathryn Rusch (F&SF)
  • Stanley Schmidt (Analog)

Best Professional Artist (226 ballots)

  • Thomas Canty
  • David Cherry
  • Bob Eggleton
  • Don Maitz
  • Michael Whelan

Best Semiprozine (223 ballots)

  • Interzone edited by David Pringle[www]
  • Locus edited by Charles N. Brown[www]
  • The New York Review of Science Fiction edited by Kathryn Cramer, Tad Dembinski, Ariel Haméon, David G. Hartwell and Kevin Maroney[www]
  • Science Fiction Chronicle edited by Andrew I. Porter
  • Speculations edited by Kent Brewster[www]

Best Fanzine (224 ballots)

  • Ansible edited by Dave Langford[www]
  • File 770 edited by Mike Glyer[www]
  • Mimosa edited by Dick & Nicki Lynch[www]
  • Nova Express edited by Lawrence Person[www]
  • Tangent edited by Dave Truesdale[www]

Best Fan Writer (202 ballots)

  • Sharon Farber
  • Mike Glyer
  • Andy Hooper[www]
  • Dave Langford[www]
  • Evelyn C. Leeper[www]

Best Fan Artist (177 ballots)

  • Ian Gunn
  • Joe Mayhew
  • Peggy Ranson[www]
  • William Rotsler
  • Sherlock

Brad Foster and Teddy Harvia declined their nominations.

John W. Campbell Award (not a Hugo) (156 ballots) (Award for the best new science fiction writer of 1995 or 1996, sponsored by Dell Magazines)

  • Michael A. Burstein (second year of eligiblity)[www]
  • Raphael Carter (first year of eligiblity)[www]
  • Richard Garfinkle (first year of eligiblity)
  • Katya Reimann (first year of eligiblity)[www]
  • Sharon Shinn (second year of eligiblity)

Click on the graphic to vote for this
page as a Starting Point Hot Site.

[ ,,^..^,, Lynx Friendly Logo ] [Web Disabilities Access Symbol]
[Earl Cooley III]
Comments to maintainer: alamowebmaster@alamo-sf.org. Original web page design by Earl Cooley III. This publication ©1997 by LoneStarCon 2, a service mark of Austin Literary Arts Maintenance Organization (ALAMO), Inc., a 501(c)(3) non-profit literary, educational corporation. All rights reserved, except as otherwise noted. This page <URL:http://www.alamo-sf.org/lonestarcon2/hugo/hugonom1.html> last changed 06/15/97 18:58:02.
Designed by a member of
The HTML Writers Guild